2021 Coaching & Mentoring Program: Pandemic or Not, We Will Continue To Rise

Many of us see the light at the end of the tunnel, but 2021 has been tough. I’d even be so bold to say tougher than 2020 because it truly has been quite a year so far. It has been a year of us waking up and doing whatever is left of our morning routine, and turning on our laptops for work. We may or may not be experts on video conference meetings yet like Zoom, Google Meeting, GoToMeeting, and Microsoft Teams. When 5 p.m. hits (or earlier for some lucky souls), all we want to do is close our laptops, but I’m here to say, DON’T! 

Add one more virtual event a month and join ALPFA Boston’s Coaching and Mentoring Program (CMP)! 

We know you’re tired of virtual meetings, but this isn’t just a meeting–it is a community where you get to have fun while learning about topics and skills that will help you grow! We know it’s not the same as being in-person and there’s some truth to that, but have you considered these?

  1. Now you don’t need to rush out of work to get to the other side, or into, Boston.
  2. You don’t need to worry about finding parking or paying for it.
  3. You are meeting people all over Massachusetts because going virtual has expanded your reach.

We’ve heard, “I’ll start networking again when the world is back to normal,” but why wait until then? Continuing the work now is not only going to grow your network, but it is going to keep it alive and strengthen it so that when things do go back to “normal,” you will be ahead of the game. 

You might be saying, ‘ok, Dallana (me), you’re making some great points in terms of keeping the laptop open, but why CMP?’ 

WHY CMP?

I am so glad you asked! CMP consists of seven monthly sessions that provide tools for Latinx professionals to flourish, personally and professionally, in order to become key leaders in their communities. 2021 is an exciting time for CMP as the new Director and Associate Director have taken the helm. With the goal to make this a successful virtual program, the planning for the program has been extremely intentional.

What do you mean by ‘intentional’? Well, like the previous years, the sessions are about growth, looking inward, and learning how to navigate your current work environments to make sure you are successful. These lessons will continue on, but this year, we made sure to adjust our planning through the virtual lens because we wanted to make sure that we are staying relevant to your reality today.

I see myself as an introvert. The virtual aspect of work, school, and events have made it easy for me to basically disappear. Nonethless, I have pushed myself out of my comfort zone by joining virtual events and have even scheduling 1-on-1 time with people I hope to learn from. I think I’ve made connections, but to be honest, I am not sure. That is why I’m looking forward to the second session of the CMP program called Communication, Connectivity and Collaboration in Virtual Environments. This session will allow me to assess whether or not I am communicating in impactful ways, and if I am not, then I will learn how to best change my practices to make more meaningful connections. 

You will enhance your takeaways from session two as you move through to session 4: The Power of Networking. This is where CMP will continue helping you build your communication skills by encouraging you to put yourself out there. As they say, “your network is your net worth.” Not only will CMP help you network in virtual and in-person settings, but we will provide you with a space to connect and apply what you’ve learned with all current, and previous, cohorts. This is an opportunity to network with over 100 professionals in an environment where everyone has at least one thing in common: being exceptional leaders!

I can go on and on talking about my excitement for CMP 2021, but why hear it from me when you can be part of the cohort either as a Mentee or Mentor?! 

  • Priority applications are due March 5, 2021
  • Final applications are due March 12, 2021.

Apply, Apply, Apply and I can’t wait to meet you!


Categories Lifestyle

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close